Sunday, September 6, 2009

World Poker Tour Merit Cyprus Classic Day 1A: John Tabatabai Leads the Way

Poker history was fabricated in the Eurasian island country of Cyprus today as it played host to its aboriginal anytime International poker tournament. Abounding Tilt Poker and the World Poker Tour teamed up with the Merit Crystal Cove Hotel and Casino to barrage the 1st Annual WPT Merit Cyprus Classic.

Perhaps the a lot of alien stop on the WPT’s 2009-2010 schedule, the accident has garnered aboriginal acclaim from its aboriginal beachcomber of participants, abounding of whom accustomed aboriginal to yield abounding advantage of the resort’s all-embracing amenities and prime littoral absolute estate. If top apex formed around, however, bank shades angry into poker shades and afterwards a few aperture animadversion from acclaimed Clash Director Jack McClellan, the cards were in the air.


Day 1a drew a bashful acreage of 91 runners, comprised of a advantageous antithesis of acclimatized pros, online qualifiers, bounded grinders and accidental players. World Series of Poker Main Accident champions Dan Harrington (1995) and Huck Seed (1996) came out to play this afternoon, as did four-time WSOP armlet champ Jeffrey Lisandro. Other notables in the acreage were Shaun Deeb, Ludovic Lacay, Antonio "The Magician" Esfandiari, Roy "The Oracle" Winston, Sorel Mizzi, Soren Kongsgaard, Danny Wong, John Monnette and Tommy Vedes, amidst others.

In absolute 63 players survived the Day 1a carnage, but it was Layne “back-to-back” Flack who blanket the aboriginal account afterwards he’d accumulated 120,000 in chips afterwards just one ninety-minute akin of play. He ailing at appropriate about 140,000, but ultimately accomplished the day with 112,675 in chips, acceptable for fifth abode all-embracing on the leaderboard.

About amid through the day, above World Series of Poker Europe Main Accident runner-up (2007) John Tabatabai bent a breach afterwards accepting it all in on the about-face with a set of tens adjoin Fatih Ozpolat’s queen-high straight. The river commutual the lath giving Tabatabai a abounding abode and subsequently, the all-embracing dent lead. From that moment on he never looked back, eventually bagging a field-leading 178,275 in chips.

Jeffrey Lisandro and Shaun Deeb were the a lot of noteworthy casualties of Day 1a, followed by bounded Cypriot pros Cemil Kara and Huseyin Yilmaz.

Action resumes tomorrow afternoon at 12:00 p.m. bounded time (GMT+3) if the additional Day 1 flight invades the Merit Crystal Cove clash room. Team Abounding Tilt pros Howard Lederer, John Juanda, Chris Ferguson, Phil Gordon, Gus Hansen, Patrik Antonius, Andy Bloch, Erik Seidel and Erick Lindgren are all accepted to access the fray, and PokerNews will be on duke throughout the day bringing you reside updates, dent counts, photos and absolute videos anon from the clash floor.

No comments: